Stories » EMCSD and all 14 Schools Win 2022 California Pivotal Practice Award

EMCSD and all 14 Schools Win 2022 California Pivotal Practice Award

Dear EMCSD Community,
Yesterday, the California Department of Education (CDE) and State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond announced the recipients of the CDE’s new 2022 California Pivotal Practice (CAPP) Award Program. This year, CAPP is being used by the state in place of the California Distinguished School Program to celebrate schools and districts that implemented an innovative practice during the 2020-2021 school year.
It is my great honor to share with all of you that our District along with ALL 14 of our schools are recipients of the 2022 California Pivotal Practice Award!
You read that correctly, each and every school as well as EMCSD as a whole, is a winner for the state’s newest award and I cannot begin to explain how proud I am to be part of such a remarkable educational community. This recognition is a reminder of all the tireless work that went into a year that will stay with us forever. The lessons we learned and the amazing things we accomplished are a testament to the phenomenal people who are part of our school communities.
You can view the entire list of winning schools and districts using the links below:
I hope every single El Monte City School District student, employee, teacher, administrator, volunteer, board member, and family member is as proud as I am for receiving this award. The California Pivotal Practice Award is an accomplishment for all of us because we all went above and beyond for each other. 
Congratulations to Cherrylee, Cleminson, Columbia, Cortada, Durfee, Gidley, Legore, New Lexington, Potrero, Rio Hondo, Rio Vista, Shirpser, Wilkerson, and Wright!
Dr. Maribel Garcia